Unit 13: Technique evaluation

I chose to work with both digital and traditional media because I am more comfortable working in digital media but also for this academic year at college I started to sketch out my designs on paper rather than the computer because by doing this I realized that I was getting my ideas out quicker than what I would on the computer because I would spend time trying to get my idea almost perfect whereas by drawing my initial sketches on paper and then continuing to develop them on paper I found that I was less likely to try and make them look pretty but instead just be loose and sketchy to get my idea out so that I could move onto designing things on the computer quicker. I chose to work with digital media because as said I’m more comfortable working with digital media and I wanted to try and learn a few more things with the software we use to create our work with, in my case I wanted to learn more about InDesign and Illustrator and I thought that by creating a magazine I would be able to learn more about both of these software’s so that’s why I chose to work with these types of media.

I feel that the final quality of my magazine came out rather well, there are still some things that could be improved upon such as my art styles used for my illustrations and also my fonts could have been added to so that I had a variety of fonts to use within my magazine for things such as advertisements but overall, I’m happy with how my magazine came out.

The presentation of my blog is professional as my blog posts are titled according to what Unit it is I’m working on as well as what sort of research I’m doing, this way it keeps all of my unit together nicely and makes it easier to flip through, also this year I’ve started to collect all of my units into categories on my blog so that it makes them easier to get to so that people who view my blog do not have to scroll endlessly through pages and pages of work, this way if they wanted a specific unit all they would have to do would be to click on the link and then all the work that was done for that unit would be in one place and easily accessible.

There is some variety within my work as I used a pencil and fine liner to create all of my initial sketches and then I used digital software such as Sketchbook Pro/Illustrator and InDesign to create my final magazine with so there was some collaboration between different mediums but not a lot and to date I think the most amount of traditional to digital art I’ve done was on my FMP for my first year of college but that doesn’t mean to say that in the future I wouldn’t like to experiment more with different mediums and digital software.

My illustrations work well in terms of the rule of thirds as when setting up grids I’ve found that a majority of my illustration hits where the lines meet thus leading the eye all around the illustration for example looking at ‘The imitation game’ piece I did most of the lines in my grid hit interest points such as the window as well as the doorframes and Alan so all of those points are the main focus of the piece so I feel that if I were to do the same with my other illustrations that they would line up alright as well so I feel that my work fits with the rules of composition.

I think that the overall neatness of my layout is something that I did well because it looks professional as it’s all neat and tidy, my articles are neatly placed into columns and my images are placed neatly with even spacing around them. I feel that my illustrations worked well for me because I feel that they draw the reader in more as whereas usually most film magazines only have white pages and text with some images. I feel that by creating illustrations of the films and then placing them with some background knowledge of the director who directs the film it makes it more interesting to read because there’s something else to look at on the page, not just a blank white page with some text and writing, my article pages have pops of colour that draw the attention of the reader to the article more than what I think plain white pages do so I feel that there was some things that I managed to do well and somethings that I didn’t do so well that have already been mentioned in previous paragraphs such as not having enough fonts and not sticking to my artist styles nor using typography like I should have done considering I did research for it I think it would have been wise to use it I think but none the less these are things I can take away with me and hopefully improve upon and correct over time.

If I was to do this again I would make sure that I had plenty of fonts to choose from as well as some typography of my own to include within my magazine to make it more creative and exciting to look at, I would have also liked to have perhaps done a review on some technology or create a competition or something to make my film magazine more accurate to today’s popular film magazines.

Leave a comment